Wonder Woman has given the DCEU a new lease of life


Diana, princess of the Amazons and trained warrior, discovers her full powers and true destiny fighting a war in the outside world.
Diana (Gal Gadot), princess of the Amazons, was raised on a sheltered island. She spent her time being trained to become an unconquerable warrior, although the hope had been that she would never have to use her skills. When army pilot Steve Trevor (Chris Pine) crashes on the secluded island one day, he brings news of a war to end all wars. Convinced that the war is the work of Aries, the god of war, Diana decides to use all she has learnt in a bid to take down Aries and put an end to the fighting, and in doing so, she discovers more about herself than she ever knew existed.

Besides the blogathon that has been taking place, normal service hasn’t really been occurring here for a while – blame the final round of exams I was having to take. However, it would appear that school has officially ended, and so have the exams, which means one thing; I am back. It seemed only right to mark the occasion with a couple of new releases, and to properly kick things off I bring you my review of Wonder Woman. People have made a big fuss of this film for good reason. It is an incredibly empowering film that had such an effect on my best friend that it brought her to tears at least four times. 

I can’t say that I’ve seen any other versions of Wonder Woman besides this one, so I have nothing to compare Gal Gadot’s outing as the heroine to. However, what I can say is that her portrayal of Diana is up there with Angelina Jolie’s Lara Croft as one of my favourite female heroes to have graced the big screen. What I liked so much about the character was she was very human. The events that she witnessed deeply affected her, and Gadot made this so obvious to the audience. It honestly was so good to watch a female lead saving the world without her feeling the need to hide her emotions from her male counterparts so as to be taken seriously. She kicked ass quite spectacularly as well, we cannot forget that.

For me, since watching Chris Pine in Hell Or High Water, I’ve welcomed his presence in films with open arms. His performance was Steve was excellent, and what made it so was that it didn’t in anyway overpower Gadot’s Diana. In fact, it was very complementary of it, and this became apparent in the series of exchanges that took place between Steve and Diana throughout the film. I personally struggle to picture anyone else in the role because Pine has a subtlety about him as an actor that I think means he quite often goes under the radar with audiences and directors. Besides the Star Trek franchise, he’s not been in many huge films, and it is this quality possessed by him that meant he worked so well in the role here.

The next thing I have to talk about is the wonderfully crafted fight scenes, and the very effective use of selective slow motion. It really helped take the fighting to another level, and allowed us all to revel in Wonder Woman’s fierce physical prowess. Rather than the most impressive moves being over and done with in a fraction a second, everything was slowed down right at the pinnacle, letting the audience just bask in all it’s glory. I think this was a terrifically smart move on director Patty Jenkins behalf, as was much of what she did with the film. She knew what she wanted to achieve with this film, and she most certainly succeeded from where I’m standing.

So, you might have guessed it already, but I was very pleased with Wonder Woman. If anyone was to ask me, much of it’s success has been down to the fact that it was very much left to the girls – a female director, a brilliant lead actress, and a series of male stars who seemed to realise that this wasn’t their film, if you understand where I’m coming from. I also think it’s fair to say that Wonder Woman has allowed DC the opportunity to give us a few more films and hopefully turn things around for their comic universe. However, regardless of whatever happens, I reckon Wonder Woman will stand alone as a landmark film for the simple fact that it was quality cinema for everyone to enjoy that happened to be led by women – something that doesn’t seem to happen often enough. However, things might start to change following this (fingers-crossed!).

Published by

filmandtv101

One day, I will be an actress and filmmaker. Until then, I write about films and TV - reviews, trivia, whatever takes my fancy really. I'm also one of the hosts on Talking Stars and am currently attempting to be a vlogger of some sort, although that's a work in progress ;)

3 thoughts on “Wonder Woman has given the DCEU a new lease of life”

  1. Hey Kira! I didn’t know you had a WordPress blog! I’m glad to find you on here. I’m pretty new to it myself. I too totally loved Wonder Woman. Far more than I expected to. I mean, well, given how much I loathed Man of Steel, Batman v Superman, and Suicide Squad, I guess I would have been pleasantly surprised with just a decent film. But no, Wonder Woman was so much better than that. Honestly, I think it’s my new favorite superhero movie ever. I am just so in love with this movie. I too was teary-eyed at least 4 or 5 times watching it, and man, I’m practically an android. It was just so beautiful, and so right in so many ways. This truly is a landmark film, and I’m so grateful for it and for everything that it means for women.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey! Yep, been here for a while now, not too bad considering I only expected to keep at it for a couple of months before getting bored of it.
      It is a brilliant film! I didn’t mind Suicide Squad too much, it is what it is and it’s kind of there now for people to take it or leave it I think. But there is now doubt that Wonder Woman as given DC another chance, and hopefully they’ll learn what they did right here and start producing more quality films like it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

