Cockneys VS Zombies was an absolute riot!


When zombies take over the East End of London, it’s up to a rag-tag bunch of twenty-somethings and a group of pensioners to save the city.
When a group of inept criminals, led by Andy (Harry Treadaway) and Terry (Rasmus Hardiker) decide to rob a bank in order to save their grandfather Ray’s (Alan Ford) retirement home, they don’t count on the dead coming back from the grave to try and stop them. As it turns out, the robbers and their grandfather plus friends may very well be the only hope London has of being saved from an infestation of zombies that takes over in the city in the space of a few hours. The zombies chose the wrong group of cockneys to pick a fight with, however.

You know the phrase, ‘it’s so bad, it’s good’? Well, that perfectly describes this film. The second film I watched as part of the bank holiday afternoon reunion with my best friend was Cockneys VS Zombies, and wasn’t it just wonderful! I’d expected most of the fun to come from the two of us just slagging the film off, but we actually both really enjoyed it. It was a pleasant surprise to say the least.

I can’t say a whole lot about the performances if I’m completely honest. The actors, after all, were all playing characters in a spoof horror. They were all just great fun to watch. Two that stick in my mind are Ashley Thomas as Mental Mickey and Alan Ford (formerly of Snatch and Lock, Stock And Two Smoking Barrels) as Ray. Thomas gifted us with a couple of the moments in the film that had me and my friend absolutely creasing, and I think the purpose of his character was just to push boundaries. He made me laugh a lot, and sometimes that’s all a woman really wants from a man. I suppose I already had a soft spot for Ford before really getting to know his character, but once familiar with Ray I was sure my faith hadn’t been misplaced. He’s just great. His characters never take any messing from anyone, and I think they always show some of the real hard nuts that the East End of London especially is renowned for.

This is a very British film, and while I pride myself on my Irish heritage, there is no getting round the fact that I was born and grew up here, so I’m in touch with the sense of humour displayed here. There is so much in this film that British people will laugh at, mainly because they all know that if a zombie apocalypse was to thrust itself upon the country, this is how it would react. What I also found really cool, and I may have foreshadowed this with my comments on one of the actors, was how it took a few people who had been staples of British TV, particularly in shows that had centred around London’s East End, and then just thrown them into this outlandish situation. It was bloody hilarious!

Now, I can’t believe I’m actually saying this, but if you’re getting a group of friend together for a film night and a few drinks, I can’t recommend strongly enough that Cockneys VS Zombies is one of the films that should be part of it. This is the perfect film for you all to just get together, kick back and chill out with plenty of snacks (chocolate fudge brownie ice cream was our choice) and a few drinks. It requires zero brainpower – in fact, the less you think about it, the better it is- which is the best thing about this film. I’d never have dreamt of watching it before, but now I am so glad that I did.

Published by

filmandtv101

One day, I will be an actress and filmmaker. Until then, I write about films and TV - reviews, trivia, whatever takes my fancy really. I'm also one of the hosts on Talking Stars and am currently attempting to be a vlogger of some sort, although that's a work in progress ;)

Leave a Reply

