I’m all for future revivals of Gilmore Girls after seeing A Year In The Life

Set almost a decade after the original series ended, this mini-series follows the Gilmore Girls through four seasons of change.

I’m hoping that you will have read my review of the original Gilmore Girls series so that I don’t have to explain the concept again here. All I really want to do with this is tell you how much enjoyed this revival, and how I felt it measured up compared to the original series.

All of the performances were great once again. It’s amazing how everyone came back into the show after nine years away and managed to channel the characters that they had all worked so hard on for seven years. Lauren Graham and Alexis Bledel did of course return as the infamous Lorelai and Rory Gilmore, Kelly Bishop as Emily Gilmore and Scott Patterson as Luke Danes. The revival very much centred around these four characters and how they all interacted with each other now. So much has changed since the show first aired, both in the show and away from it, most notably the passing of Edward Hermann who played Richard Gilmore for the entirety of the original series. I do honestly think that these four especially did a terrific job of not only bringing their roles back to life, but also in paying tribute to those who unfortunately didn’t live to see this reunion happen.

The way the writers incorporated storylines from before into this worked really well. There were a few famous faces from way back in the early 2000s that made short appearances here and again, it was great paying homage to their contributions to the show. What was also really nice about this was the fact that so many people have gone on to big things after starting out here – one name that comes to mind is Jared Padalecki – and that they still found time in their now very busy schedules to come back to film small segments for this. I think that just shows what an impact this show had on everyone who was part of it over the years.

As I was watching the revival, I experienced some really weird feelings. The original series was obviously filmed and aired throughout the very early stages of my life, so everything that happens in those episodes, all the significant events that get mentioned throughout the first seven seasons, I have lived through (granted, quite often this happened without my knowing at the time). Similarly, all the changes that have taken place since then have also been part of my lifetime. Where I’m going with this is it’s strange watching this and looking at everything that has happened in my lifetime, which at only 18 and a half years is a relatively short period of time, and just seeing how much has changed. It was so weird seeing iPads popping up all over the place, and that Luke’s Diner had wifi. However, it was also nice seeing that despite the advancements that had taken place, the people remained largely the same.

I’d also just like to mention how well everyone seems to have aged before I finish this review. Considering I went from an episode that aired in 2007 one night, to something that was filmed last year the next, everyone changed so little! A couple of the cast members have aged particularly well if you ask me, but I won’t go into that too much as I’ve taken enough of your time already.

So, as the Gilmore Girls move into a new chapter of their lives, I have to say that it was really great to see what had gone on since the series finale ten years ago. Finally, Luke and Lorelai are together, and Emily has gotten a bit more bearable. As for Rory, she’s not quite sorted yet, but I’m hoping that future episodes will see her right as well. I know there have been mixed views on Gilmore Girls – A Year In The Life, but I have to admit that I loved it. Everything I enjoyed about the original series was there, plus you got to see how the citizens of Stars Hollow had evolved to deal with the technological advancements that have also taken place over the last decade. I would happily watch this entire show again, but I think what I really want is more episodes – I’ve not had enough yet!

 

Published by

filmandtv101

One day, I will be an actress and filmmaker. Until then, I write about films and TV - reviews, trivia, whatever takes my fancy really. I'm also one of the hosts on Talking Stars and am currently attempting to be a vlogger of some sort, although that's a work in progress ;)

Leave a Reply

