Mystery Blogger Award Vol. 2


Well, well, well, darling readers. This week, Mr Damien Riley, fellow blogger and one of my podcasting buddies on Talking Stars, nominated me for my second Mystery Blogger award. A big thank you goes out to him for the nomination. For those of you who might be unfamiliar with Damien’s work, you should definitely check out his site, Riley Film Reviews. There you’ll find a great selection of films and a few TV series that Damien has shared his thoughts on. Once again, thanks for nominating me for this award – your timing really couldn’t have been better as this is also the week where I shall be marking two years of blogging. What a brilliant way to kick off the celebrations! 

Now let’s get down to business.

The rules of the tag/award are:

Put the award logo/image on your blog.
List the rules.

Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.

Mention the creator of the award.

Tell your readers 3 things about yourself.

Nominate 10 – 20 people.

Notify your nominees by commenting on their blog.

Ask your nominees any 5 questions of your choice; with one weird or funny question.

Share a link to your best post(s).

I also want to give a word of thanks to Okoto Enigma for creating this award.

The first things to do is to tell you all three things about myself. As I get more and more of these awards, I really struggle with this part – I’m not a very exciting person to tell the truth, although anyone who maybe keeps up to date with my Twitter feed (which isn’t hard) or listens to the Talking Stars podcast will probably have figured that out for themselves by now. Anyway, here goes…

1. I hate school, and honestly, the next four months cannot pass quickly enough so that I can leave and start work with the company that took me on for work experience over the summer. It’s not the work that bothers me, it’s more the experience I’ve had with the different people in the system. I’ve had a few teachers that have had me down as stupid over the years, and in secondary school I got bullied (sob story alert). I loved it last summer when I was with Kinetal because I was constantly learning new things and it felt like they really appreciated what I was doing for them. The start of July is going to be the start of a brand new adventure, and will hopefully be the start of my journey into the film industry, and I cannot wait.

2. I used to be a gymnast, and an alright one at that. I won four county competitions during my time doing that. Floor was always my favourite because I couldn’t fall off it.

3. I have a dog. Her name is Bella. She is a right little snake in my boot. 


And now for the questions I was set for homework by Damien: 

Did you ever give a film a score higher than it deserved because you knew your readers and/or the critics as a whole loved it? In other words, you didn’t want to look stupid.

I don’t really give scores, although it’s something I should probably start doing. I wouldn’t say that I give higher scores to conform, but there have been many times that I’ve given a verdict on a film and then changed my mind after posting the review. I think I way oversell films sometimes when I try to be positive about them when there really is very little to be positive about.

How do you dive in to doing a review online? What’s your routine or do you have one?

I used to handwrite everything, but doing that and then typing up was way too time-consuming. Now I just type up and save it in Pages on my iPad ready to post it whenever it’s needed.

Have you ever watched a movie on your phone?

Of course! It’s how I used to watch the films I wasn’t allowed to by my parents.
(silly one) If you are single, or even if you aren’t, what is your dating age range. ie; when I met my wife I would go no more than ten years older and six years younger. I had to break my rule to date her.

At this moment in time, I wouldn’t go any younger than my age. To be honest, I’m not too fond of any boys within five years of my age because they’ve yet to grow up (most of them). There’s ten years between my parents, so I’m not closed off to that size of an age gap, but then Jake Gyllenhaal at 36 is slightly out of a ten years older window for me.

I’ll just say that as long as they’re breathing, they’re an option 😉

Best suspense film?

No Country For Old Men

Now I’ve to nominate some more bloggers for the award…

HC Movie Reviews

Film Music Central

Film Frenzy

Film Ink Official

Mini Media Reviews

CFY

Niche Film Reviews

Film Nerds Unite

Crutches Of Life

And my questions to you are as follows:

If you had to name one, what would you say is your worst personality characteristic?

Besides blogging and what is associated with it, what else do you like to do in your spare time?

What is the most embarrassing thing that has ever happened to you?

What sort of music do you like?

Why do Australian Christmas cards have snow on them?

To finish, I’m supposed to add a link or two to my favourite posts, so here they are:

Hell Or High Water

The Hills Have Eyes (it will forever be one of my best reviews in my opinion)

Published by

Kira Comerford

Film and TV lover with hopes to one day make my own projects for everyone to enjoy. Until then, I'm giving my thoughts on what I watch for inspiration.

3 thoughts on “Mystery Blogger Award Vol. 2”

Leave a Reply

