Tuesday Top Ten – My Favourite Blockbusters

The end of awards season marks the beginning of the run up to summer blockbuster releases, so this week I have complied for you a list of my favourite highest-grossing box office hits. The films featured on this list all came from filmsite.org’s 100 All-Time Box Office Top 100. I was quite surprised to see that from the worldwide list, upon which my own list is based, that the majority of films came from this side of the year 2000. Anyway, that’s enough of me yabbering on, here’s my selection.
10. Avatar


It’s been an absolute age since I watched Avatar, but one thing I remember about the film is I enjoyed it watching it. Quite unsurprisingly, this film is the highest-grossing film of all-time according to website I looked at for help with this list. I can recall the hype surrounding the film when it came out – there was an awful lot of excitement about it, so the fact that it majorly cleaned up whilst in cinemas is no big shock for me.

9. Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol


Another film that I have gone a long, long, long time without seeing is this instalment in the Mission Impossible franchise. It was the big return of Ethan Hunt and was good fun when I watched it one Friday night many years ago. Not being the greatest fan of Tom Cruise, it is no mystery to me as to why it has been so long since I saw the film, but evidently this was not something that put the masses off of flocking to see the film when it was released as it comfortably made filmsite.org’s top 100.

8. Avengers Assemble


Marvel films are always a fun affair, aren’t they? Alongside this, they are always guaranteed to take in astronomical figures at the box office. Avengers Assemble was a huge project that did very well with audiences everywhere, and when I eventually hopped on the bandwagon, I thoroughly enjoyed it as well.

7. The Hunger Games


Most franchises that start life as a series of books tend to be a sure fire hit provided the film adaptation of the first instalment is well received. The Hunger Games franchise was something that seemed to do better and better as each film hit cinemas. At this moment in time, I’ve only seen the first in the series, but I found it to be a much better film than I had anticipated, which is never a bad things.

6. Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them


As anyone who read my review of this film will know, I was very, very pleasantly surprise by how wonderful I found this film to be. Fantastic Beasts had big boots to fill, and I would say it did a damn good job of doing that. This was mainly down to the casting of Eddie Redmayne as Newt Scamander in my opinion – I think that was the best casting choice in a long time. Fantastic Beasts could be the next big franchise for kids, and I wouldn’t be sorry if that was the case. I’m glad it was a huge success.

5. The Lion King


It will come as no surprise to anyone that The Lion King is one of the highest grossing films of all time. I think you will struggle to come across anyone who hasn’t seen it. It was a staple film of my childhood so I couldn’t not include it here. The music is wonderful and the story is one that never seems to get old. If we’re being realistic, it could only make money.

4. Up


This was a fantastic movie, and in my eyes it was the last great film that Pixar made. I can remember it being all over the news for how it had been such a hit with audiences, and when I finally got to see it for my birthday that year, I really enjoyed it. It is in my DVD collection and is a film I’m always happy to revisit.

3. Finding Nemo


Another tremendous film from my childhood was Finding Nemo. This film will always be untouchable, and is one of the early reasons why you don’t mess with Pixar films. Ever.

2. Skyfall


I am a huge fan of this instalment in the James Bond franchise. It has so much going for it, not least Javier Bardem as Bond villain Raoul Silva. This was another birthday cinema treat, and is a film I continue to enjoy every time I watch it. It also had quite a bit of pressure to do well at the box office as it was the most expensive Bond film ever made. It absolutely brought home the bacon.

1. Forrest Gump


One of only two films on this list that is from outside the 2000s & 2010s is Forrest Gump. It made a huge amount of money when it was on cinema release, but was a film I only just saw a couple of years ago. I sat through it from beginning to end with a huge great smile on my face, and I can tell you now that if it ever gets re-released in cinemas I will have no qualms with spending my money on the best seats.

There you have it – a run-down of my favourite blockbuster films. I think this is a fair mix of genres that touches on films that reach out to all audiences. If ever you’re stuck for some easy watching, these films are just a few of the options available to you to make for a nice night in in front of the TV with your choice of snacks and favourite pyjamas on.

Published by

filmandtv101

One day, I will be an actress and filmmaker. Until then, I write about films and TV - reviews, trivia, whatever takes my fancy really. I'm also one of the hosts on Talking Stars and am currently attempting to be a vlogger of some sort, although that's a work in progress ;)

3 thoughts on “Tuesday Top Ten – My Favourite Blockbusters”

  1. Now I feel a tad better…you’ve only seen Forrest Gump a few years ago…at least I know I wasn’t the only person who hadn’t seen it long before now. Well…now I’m probably the only person who hasn’t seen it πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’d better hurry up and see it! You have no idea what you’re missing! It was such a lovely, feel-good film with some brilliant characters – an absolute must see πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

