Oscars Predictions 2017

I’ll keep things short and sweet because I’m a bit tight on time. Here’s my predictions for this year’s Oscars ceremony which will be taking place later on. Of course, you already knew that, so why am I telling you that information like it is news to everyone but me?
Best Supporting Actor:

Want to win: Jeff Bridges as Marcus Hamilton – Personally I think this is the only category Hell Or High Water stands any chance in, and while I think others should have been nominated before him for the film, it’s good that it has at least received some recognition .
Who will win: Mahershala Ali as Juan – He had a relatively small amount of screen time in Moonlight, but didn’t he make the best of it? I think a couple of scenes in particular will have done him a lot of favours, and rightly so – he was very, very good.

Best Supporting Actress:

Want to win: Viola Davis as Rose Maxson – If she does not win the award for Best Supporting Actress, is there even any point to the Oscars anymore? For my full rundown of her performance, see my review of Fences, but just for now, I’ll say that it was a very raw, moving performance that was so good it didn’t even feel like I was watching an actress play a character.
Who will win: Viola Davis – See above.

Best Director:

Want to win: Denis Villeneuve, Arrival – I have thoroughly enjoyed three of Villeneuve’s most recent films, and was gutted last year when Sicario failed to receive any big nominations. This year with Arrival, it could be his year, but sadly I think something else will see that it yet again does not happen.
Who will win: Damien Chazelle, La La Land – I’m not going to say he didn’t do a good job, because he did. It must have been a mammoth task directing some of those huge chorus scenes throughout the film. I just think it’s too predictable that La La Land will win in near enough every category it has had a nomination.

Best Actress:

Want to win: Natalie Portman as Jackie Kennedy – To say Portman absolutely nailed this role would be an understatement, that is how brilliant she was. She made Jackie an intriguing watch, and I very much doubt that this would have been the case without her. It’s almost impossible for me to imagine anyone else in the role, which has got to be a sign, surely?
Who will win: Emma Stone as Mia Dolan – She has won every other award she has been up for for her role in La La Land, so why should we assume the Oscars will be any different? Again, I’ll say that she didn’t do a bad job, but I just think she wasn’t as good here as she has been in other films that she received no awards for whatsoever.

Best Actor:

Want to win: Casey Affleck as Lee Chandler – I loved Manchester By The Sea and I think this was largely due to the performances in it. Affleck was wonderful to watch, and he had a very good uncle-nephew dynamic going on with co-star Lucas Hedges. He is a very underrated actor, but I think an Oscar win would change that for the better.
Who will win: Casey Affleck – See above.

Best Picture:

Want to win: Manchester By The Sea – It was a brilliant film to watch and I loved the honesty with which it portrayed how some of life’s worst situations play out with some very funny moments taking place. 
Who will win: La La Land – Hollywood loves Hollywood, so a film about Hollywood up for a Best Picture award at Hollywood’s biggest night of the year is bound to win. It wasn’t a bad film, but it sure as hell wasn’t this good either.
So there’s my predictions laid out in black and white all for you. Take them with a pinch of salt, and don’t go betting your house and life savings on any of these being right – I am notoriously bad at things like this. 

Published by

filmandtv101

One day, I will be an actress and filmmaker. Until then, I write about films and TV - reviews, trivia, whatever takes my fancy really. I'm also one of the hosts on Talking Stars and am currently attempting to be a vlogger of some sort, although that's a work in progress ;)

Leave a Reply

