Saw VI? More like Snore VI


Strahm is dead, but the FBI are still closing in on Hoffman. Meanwhile, somebody else who is unappreciative of life finds themselves caught up in the game.The body of agent Peter Strahm has been disassembled back into flat-pack form, and it would appear that the world’s worst detective, Mark Hoffman (Costas Mandylor), is now home and dry as Jigsaw’s (Tobin Bell) successor. Just to be safe though, Hoffman goes above and beyond to attempt to frame Strahm as Jigsaw’s little helper. However, he gets a shock when he finds out that Strahm’s partner, Lindsey Perez (Athena Karkanis) didn’t actually die in a previous trap – a potential problem as she doesn’t believe her late partner was capable of doing what he is being accused of. The net then begins to tighten around Hoffman when the FBI set to work on unscrambling a tape left at one of the previous murder scenes – the one thing that could solidly confirm his involvement. Elsewhere, the unethical CEO of a health insurance company finds himself being put to the test after gambling with other people’s lives as a career.

Okay, I’ll pre-warn you that I can feel a rant coming on here. Yes, one similar to that I embarked upon about The Hills Have Eyes. I watched Saw VI. It was inevitable that as I worked my way through the franchise, they were gradually going to get worse. Holy God though. I had severely underestimated how bad they could get.

I’m not going to spend a whole lot of time talking about performances here. The one performance I like was that by Costas Mandylor, and I spoke about that in my last review. This, of course, leaves the insurance CEO who I cared so little about that I don’t even know his name, nor the face of the bloke who played him, so I couldn’t really talk about him even if I’d have wanted to.

My main question is what was this film actually trying to do besides rob movie-goers of their money? I am somewhat bemused by the objectives this film set out to achieve. There was no longer the great Strahm/Hoffman face-off going on as they decided to kill of one half of that double act in the last film, so I wasn’t really that invested in the storyline anymore either. They then tried to be clever by bringing back a character who had previously been killed – or so we thought. I wasn’t that impressed by the return of agent Perez. To be honest, I think my reaction to the revelation was about on a par with Hoffman’s.

At this point, I am also so over this idea that the Jigsaw squad are out to teach people a lesson about how they should value life. I feel like once the FBI got brought in in film four, the writers should have fully broken away from the original concept. I mean, they attempted it, but the little subplots such as the Fatal Five in the last film, and then the insurance guy in this one makes it feel as though the filmmakers don’t really know what other direction they could take the story in. For me, watching the same thing for the sixth time with only a tiny bit of plot progression was boring. Plus, it feels like there is a reliance on putting an individual through the mill for some part of the film. It’s as if the writers know that the general storyline has swayed so far from what it once was, yet they’re still trying to market the franchise on what it used to be. They needed to choose one or the other if you ask me, because the storyline consisting of traps that were used as weapons against Jigsaw’s pursuers alongside the traps that supposedly taught life lessons did not work for me. Or, if they were that insistent on keeping those two aspects of the story alive, they should have at least made more of an effort to weave the two together.

On the whole, it is with a not-so heavy heart that I have to tell you that Saw VI is easily the worst film of the franchise so far. It cannot survive on just one character, and fails in trying to tell this part of the story which you could say has gotten too big for it to even know what it is about anymore. However, I’ve come this far – Saw 3D (or The Final Chapter) will still be watched. After all, it can’t be any morse than this… surely?

Published by

filmandtv101

One day, I will be an actress and filmmaker. Until then, I write about films and TV - reviews, trivia, whatever takes my fancy really. I'm also one of the hosts on Talking Stars and am currently attempting to be a vlogger of some sort, although that's a work in progress ;)

6 thoughts on “Saw VI? More like Snore VI”

  1. This is spot on. I’ve watched the series up to the 6th film and I’m still trying to figure out what it is people like about these films.

    Saying this, I’ll be checking out Saw 7 at some point, just to finish off the series. But, if I remember, they’re planning a 8th film.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was hoping someone would speak up in agreement – means I’ve not been too harsh 😉
      If I’m honest, I enjoyed the first film, thought the next two were okay, and found elements of 4 and 5 enjoyable (the cat-and-mouse chase), but this one pushed the limits too much. Thankfully, I found 7 to be slightly better – it tied up a few things and rounded off the franchise for me.
      Yes, you’re correct in thinking there could be number 8 next year – talk of yet another film is growing, and somehow, I think people may still pay to see another instalment, so we shall have to wait and see 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s been a while since I’ve seen the first film, it was a film which I’ve only seen a couple of times. The sequels… They’re a one time watch and the further they got into the series, the more unlikable they became.

        I was wondering if 7 tied up the lose ends, or… even with it’s “The Final Chapter” title they’d leave it all unanswered which would need another film to answer them.

        Good to see that it tied up a few things. But we’ll have to see what 8 has to offer.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’d say you could be right about the one-time watch thing with the sequels…
        I guess they tied everything up in a way that always left the possibility for another film if they felt the need to make another. I think if closure is something you’re looking for after coming this far, you cannot do any worse than this film – 7 does improve upon it slightly, if only that 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Sorry for my delay in replying. I think it got to a point with the sequels, I stopped paying attention if they made sense; had any story or reason for what was happening, that… I had a mild wonder if the makers cared at all to what they were putting in the film character and story wise

        But there have been other long running film series where one of the sequels’ title has suggested it’s the last film and then continued… One series being “Friday the 13th”, which in my early teens I enjoyed.

        I’ll stop rambling and hope you have a good night.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

