Third time’s (kind of) a charm 

Jigsaw kidnaps a doctor to perform a life saving procedure whilst his apprentice puts an unlucky citizen through a brutal test of character.

Jigsaw (Tobin Bell) has gone to ground, and now he is aided by his new apprentice, Amanda Young (Shawnee Smith). However, the cancer patient knows time is running out for him, and without medical help, this could happen sooner than first thought. Of course, he can’t just turn up at the local city hospital – he must instead bring the hospital to him. Dr. Lynn Denlon (Bahar Soomekh) is unaware that she is to become the latest pawn in the puppeteer’s games, and one night after her shift, he is kidnapped by the deranged Amanda in a last ditch, desperate attempt to prolong Jigsaw’s life so that he can continue playing. Lynn’s life depends on Jigsaw’s life, so she must keep him alive if she also wishes to remain so. How long must she keep his heart beating? Until another of his victims, Jeff (Angus Macfadyen), completes his own game.

So, I made it through the third instalment of the Saw franchise, and again, it is another film that I quite enjoyed. This film is where the saga begins to take a different direction, and I have to say that I think the change in tack has been handled rather well.

Tobin Bell once again had quite a prominent role in this film as Jigsaw, although his performance was a lot more subdued here as his character lay close to death throughout the film. However, there was still no doubting the man’s dangerous status. He was the ultimate puppeteer here, and it is perhaps in this film that you can see the true clarity of his vision as he tries to pass his mission onto someone else.

Shawnee Smith was kind of fascinating to watch as Jigsaw’s apprentice, Amanda Young. In this film, we learn more about her relationship with the killer, starting from the point when she passed her test. Smith worked well with the script to show how vulnerable Amanda was, and the backstory observed here showed the true extent of how Jigsaw made her one of his biggest victims. The story and the way it was acted out made it quite easy to empathise with the character of Amanda, and I think this made the ending of the film slightly more shocking than it perhaps would have been if it wasn’t for the in-depth narrative that went on throughout it.

I must admit that the storyline here is starting to become quite clever, although if it wasn’t for someone telling me roughly what would happen beforehand, I may not have picked up on this. For those of you who don’t know by now, I can be a lot like Stevie Wonder when it comes to clever storylines and plot twists. Saw II goes through Jigsaw’s story, whereas Saw III, this film, shows Amanda’s side of events, but takes place a little while after the events of film two. In my honest opinion, I do think it is rather well done, so I’ll award the writers a pat on the back for their efforts here. Bravo!

All in all, I believe Saw III to be another solid addition to the franchise. I thought the way it played with the different point of view was an intriguing way to tell the story. It also meant that the film challenged the viewer in a different way, as this time, it was not only the traps I was trying to get my head around.

Published by

Kira Comerford

Film and TV lover with hopes to one day make my own projects for everyone to enjoy. Until then, I'm giving my thoughts on what I watch for inspiration.

Leave a Reply

