American Psycho drove me crazy for all the wrong reasons


A wealthy New York investment banker hides his alternative personality from his co-workers as he descends deeper into his violent fantasies.

Well-educated, intelligent, handsome Patrick Bateman (Christian Bale) appears to be the full package. He is twenty-seven and living his own American Dream, working as a Wall Street banker making a fortune to compliment the one he was born with. However, this is where the positives end. At night, he escalates into madness as he experiments with fear and violence to fulfil his warped, hedonistic fantasies.

Well, I’m not entirely sure what to make of American Psycho. It was nothing like what I had imagined it would be, and whilst I was oddly disappointed by the lack of violence actually shown on-screen, I still can’t decide whether I disliked it or not. As far as I’m aware, there was no real storyline, yet I couldn’t seem to draw myself away from it.

Of course, that’s not to say that the film was all bad. Christian Bale was an absolute knockout as the troubled Mr Bateman, and his bum in the scene wasn’t half bad either. Bale’s performance was easily the reason why I watched the film from beginning to end as he was fascinating just to sit and observe. There were also times I found him to be very, very funny, however I’m not entirely sure the hilarity was intentional. Nonetheless, I laughed all the same, and I don’t suppose the running commentary myself and my parents provided helped either. One example of the moments where I very nearly burst out laughing was during the little meeting or whatever it was where Patrick just about had a fit over a textured business card with raised lettering. Talk about first world problems! bale did play the part very well, however, and it was at times such as this that he was at his best in the film.

And now, the real moaning commences. My major gripe is the fact that I feel like American Psycho was hugely mis-sold to me. I’ll hold my hands up and say that in film and TV shows, I love a bit of violence, and given the name and things I’d heard about this film, I was buzzing for watching it. But when it came down to it, most of the actual killing was done off camera, and all you got to see was a blood-spattered Patrick and a bloodied corpse. As much of a psycho as I might sound myself, I was quite disappointed at how harmless the film actually turned out to be. 

There was also the rather apparent lack of a storyline that got my goat a bit. I completely understand that the main point of the film was just to see Bale’s character descend deeper into chaos, but I would really have liked to see at least some hint of a plot to go along with. And as for the ending? I really didn’t get that – write in if you can enlighten me in anyway.

So, all in all, despite my uncertainty at the beginning, I think it’s fair to say that I wasn’t all that impressed with American Psycho. Bale was riveting to watch, but it just seems that everything else was a no for me, yet I still watched it to the bitter end. It’d be really interesting to hear what you all think on this one, however – let me know below. 

Published by

filmandtv101

One day, I will be an actress and filmmaker. Until then, I write about films and TV - reviews, trivia, whatever takes my fancy really. I'm also one of the hosts on Talking Stars and am currently attempting to be a vlogger of some sort, although that's a work in progress ;)

2 thoughts on “American Psycho drove me crazy for all the wrong reasons”

  1. American Psycho is a commentary on the pretension and elitism of the lives these people live. The business card stuff, the excruciating details about restaurant reservations – it’s supposed to be more horrific and mind-numbing than the actual murders. That’s my take-away, at least. I’d maybe give it another go sometime. Glad you enjoyed it somewhat, though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for that explanation! That makes sense actually for why such a big deal was made out of the first world problems and very little said about the killings. Maybe I will revisit it some time…

      It’s great to hear from you, thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

