Good, but not quite an epic of epic epicness for me


A hopeless college graduate falls for a cool New Yorker, only to find that in order to win her heart he must defeat her Seven Evil Exes.

Scott Pilgrim (Michael Cera) is something of a loser. He is an unemployed 23 year-old hipster in an unaccomplished garage rock band and is also dating 17 year-old Catholic schoolgirl Knives Chau (Ellen Wong). Well aware of the state his life is in, Scott resorts to becoming a bottomless pit of self pity and woe until one day, Ramona Flowers (Mary Elizabeth Winstead), a damaged New Yorker in search of a new start, shows up in Toronto and catches his attention. Ramona is abrasive and only likeable to Scott, who immediately sets about making her his latest girlfriend. Little does he know, however, that before he can start dating Ramona, he must first prove himself worthy of her by defeating her Seven Evil Exes, who will all do whatever they must in order to destroy any new boyfriend she may consider.

A friend of mine was the reason why I took the time to watch Scott Pilgrim vs. The World. I must admit, if it hadn’t have been for her and the many Michael Cera memes she has shown me, this film is probably not one that would have been on my radar. However, I must also admit that I did rather enjoy it. Scott Pilgrim vs. The World is by no means the best film I’ve ever seen, and it certainly won’t be one that makes my all-time favourites, but for a bit of late night fun after two weeks of hard revision and exams, I could hardly complain.

You know there seems to be this joke that Michael Cera never actually set out to be an actor, and that he was simply in the wrong place at the wrong time one day, and that now he’s just been acting for so long there is no way out for him? Yeah, I can see where that came from. He is the reason why this film is the holy grail for many teenagers because he just seems to be all the not-so-brilliant aspects of teenage years personified, which works very well here. Cera was quirkily funny, and his whole demeanour as Scott worked in harmony with the general tone of the film. I can’t say I’ve seen him knowingly in anything else, but I would say to give him a few years to break his ‘awkward’ mould and I do sincerely believe he could turn out to be a very fine actor.

Since watching 10 CLOVERFIELD Lane I’ve decided that Mary Elizabeth Winstead is quite a good actress, but I didn’t like her in the role of Ramona. I just felt that her talents would have been better utilised if she hadn’t more or less just pouted for the course of the film. The role of Ramona in the way it was done was just not something I’d have envisaged Winstead as myself. For me, there could have been more to her than constantly scowling and the occasional attitude-drenched sentence.

The storyline was easily what made the film so fun to watch. It was done in a way that kind of resembled a sort of more kid-friendly Sin City, but a more grown-up version of Wreck It Ralph. It proved to be an effective way to put the film across and also meant that Scott was more believable as the hero of the story.

On the whole, I did enjoy Scott Pilgrim vs. The World, however I don’t think I’d be able to sit through it again in a hurry. It’s not what I’d usually opt for, and whilst I didn’t think it to be an awful, I’m not going to lie and say it’s the best thing since sliced bread. It’s fun, it’s different, but it’s not a classic and I do think it would become tiresome during the second time of watching.

Published by

filmandtv101

One day, I will be an actress and filmmaker. Until then, I write about films and TV - reviews, trivia, whatever takes my fancy really. I'm also one of the hosts on Talking Stars and am currently attempting to be a vlogger of some sort, although that's a work in progress ;)

Leave a Reply

