It’s not a lie to say Interstellar is out of this world


When humanity’s survival is threatened, a team of explorers travel through space in an attempt to save them.

In a near future America, Cooper (Matthew McConaughey) is an ex-science engineer and pilot who has been forced to turn his hand to farming by a famine that is slowly sweeping the earth. When he and his daughter, Murph (played by a series of actresses throughout the film), accidentally stumble upon a NASA base near their home, Cooper is asked to go on a daring mission to try and find a new planet for the human race to inhabit. However, in order to save many, he must sacrifice a few. Cooper faces the agonising dilemma of giving up on the last chance of human survival or never seeing his kids again.

Interstellar is a visually stunning epic from director Christopher Nolan. However, not only is it aesthetically pleasing, it also has quite a mind-bending storyline. Why on earth this film was snubbed at last year’s Oscars is beyond me, quite honestly. I whole-heartedly enjoyed it from the beginning, even if and whole concept meant I had to take a couple of aspirin to stop my head hurting after.

Matthew McConaughey was wonderful yet again. His performance as Cooper should’ve received Academy recognition, end of. I really felt for him as the father who was caught between a rock and a hard place. The bond Cooper had with his children was so obvious, and you could see the pain in the man’s eyes when he had to leave them for the mission, and when he watched the video recordings transmitted to him in space. For me, McConaughey was as good in this as he was in Dallas Buyers Club, so he should’ve received more recognition for the role.

Anne Hathaway played one of Cooper’s co-workers, Dr. Brand. She was surprisingly good in her role, and I think she adequately matched McConaughey’s performance. Dr. Brand was the daughter of the man who had pioneered the space mission, and she went through quite an ordeal on the mission. Hathaway showed Dr. Brand’s emotions in a way that meant you knew that she was struggling with things but had to hide this from her colleagues (who were all men, I might add). I liked this especially as the film does centre around a predominantly male field, and I think Hathaway accurately portrayed the way some women may feel in her position.

One of the actresses who played Cooper’s daughter, Murph, was Jessica Chastain. I’ve seen quite a bit of her work on the quiet, and would definitely say she’s one of my favourite actresses. I thought she was very good as Murph, who never really got over her dad going away, and instead threw herself into trying to figure out what was causing the problems with the food on earth. The likeness between the father and daughter was very clear in the ways they both behaved and I just thought it was brilliant.

The visual effects for Interstellar are absolutely mind-blowing, something I think Nolan prides himself on with his films. The plot concept was equally as amazing, however it did take quite a bit of effort getting your head around it, especially considering the film is around three hours long.

On the whole, Interstellar is a tremendous film that I would highly recommend to everyone. The performances are wonderful, the story is great and the visuals are monumental, however just bear in mind that it does take a bit of understanding. 

Published by

Kira Comerford

Film and TV lover with hopes to one day make my own projects for everyone to enjoy. Until then, I'm giving my thoughts on what I watch for inspiration.

7 thoughts on “It’s not a lie to say Interstellar is out of this world”

    1. Yeah, I’m not going to lie and say I got it straight away, but after I had some time to think about it afterwards I thought it had been very well done. I would say it might be an idea to watch it for a second time, but at nearly three hours long that’s bit of an ask.

      Thanks for stopping by! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I do have a tendency to stand alone from the masses ๐Ÿ˜‰ There have been a number of films that have been adored all over the world and I just could not get into them.

      I would definitely say that it was one that split opinions – there were evidently a lot of people who loved it, and then there was a also a fair few, like yourself, who didn’t so much. I don’t know if this was possibly to do with the expectations of director Christopher Nolan? Not that I’ve seen loads of them, but I think he’s directed a variation of styles of film. Personally, I’d take the likes of Insomnia any day over this because most of the time I am unable to cope with the mind-bending stuff, and had I have watched Inception before Interstellar, I would never have considered seeing the latter. But something with it just clicked with me, and after having thought it through a bit, it became one of the very rare sci-fi mind-blowing things that I liked. Of course, from my own experiences, I know that that would mean nothing to some people as it is something that certainly is not for everybody.

      Sorry for having left you an essay there ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for the comment, it’s great to hear from readers!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I watch all his movies, including “following” and I just think he didn’t salvage a script that was originally with other people who shelved it for the right reasons. My movie review of interstellar tells why I think there are problems; it boils down to spending time on things that didn’t interest many people

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I suppose there is always that issue though – there is always going to be bits that interest some and disinterest others. That’s something that I quickly found not only with film, but with every form of art and entertainment. It’s all so subjective and there is always going to be people that don’t like a film that is supposed to be very good, just like there will always be those who love something that is a right load of rubbish, and I find these divides widen further when you get highly acclaimed directors with legions of fans that produce a film that their avid followers would say is definitely not their best.

    Like

Leave a Reply

