War never ends quietly, neither does Fury

  
A battle hardened army sergeant commands a Sherman tank and his five man crew behind enemy lines.

In April 1945, the Allies make their final push in the Second World War. Sergeant Don ‘Wardaddy’ Collier (Brad Pitt) commands a tank on a deadly mission deep behind enemy lines. They are outnumbered and out-gunned and as if the odds aren’t already stacked high enough against them, just before being set off on this mission, Wardaddy and his men have to face the fact they have had a rookie soldier thrust into their midst in the form of Norman Elison (Logan Lerman). Somehow, I don’t think heroic even begins to describe the lengths these men will have to go to to survive.

Fury is one of the most recent war films to be made in Hollywood, and it is certainly one of the better ones. Forgive me for saying this, but I find with most films about some of the more significant wars in recent history that once you have seen one, you tend to have seen most of them. I know this could be said about any genre, and I totally agree with you, but I have found that with war films in particular, they are all very similar. That doesn’t mean to say I don’t enjoy them, however. They have plenty of action and a real sense of camaraderie so if entertainment is what you’re looking for, they tend to fit the bill very well. All I’m saying is you can go a long time before you find one that is set apart from the rest. For example, and I’ll only talk about films I’ve seen, there was Good Morning, Vietnam in 1987, a comedy surrounding the Vietnam War. It was then 1998 before Saving Private Ryan came along and blew everyone away. I think another ten years passed before Inglorious Basterds came out in 2008 and people got to see how Quentin Tarantino thought WW2 should’ve happened. Now, whilst I liked Fury and thought it was a good film, somehow I don’t think it will be remembered as one of the greatest war films to ever have been made.

Nonetheless, I found each and every performance to be very good. Pitt as the infamous Wardaddy was brilliant. His performance showed that he was determined to get his men back alive no matter what, and from a sergeant commanding a five man crew, that’s all you really want to see. His character’s determination to take on the Nazi’s and win was unquestionable, but he also had his demons and there were many times they got the better of him. It was a very solid performance on Pitt’s behalf and it was good to see him in such a role.

Logan Lerman as rookie Norman underwent a huge transformation throughout the film, going from a useless typist, terrifies by his own shadow, to a killing machine willing to do whatever it took to protect the rest of his crew. Lerman played the part fantastically and I found myself rooting for him towards the end of the film.

The rest of the cast features the likes of Shia LeBoeuf, Jon Bernthal, Michael Peña, Jason Isaacs and Scott Eastwood. The only thing missing from the cast in my opinion was a little German man in the form of Christoph Waltz, whose acting I adore. He may have just propelled the film into the same league as the elites I spoke of earlier.

All in all, I thought that Fury was a good film and didn’t feel cheated at the fact it took up two hours and eleven hours on my time. However, I probably wouldn’t watch it again, for a long time at least for the very reason I stated at the start.

Published by

filmandtv101

One day, I will be an actress and filmmaker. Until then, I write about films and TV - reviews, trivia, whatever takes my fancy really. I'm also one of the hosts on Talking Stars and am currently attempting to be a vlogger of some sort, although that's a work in progress ;)

Leave a Reply

