Unbreakable confirmed my suspicions that Brucie is unkillable

 
A man discovers a song things about himself after being the soul survivor of a fatal train crash.

When Eastrail train 117 derails and kills everyone but David Dunn (Bruce Willis) who escapes unscathed, nobody can believe it. Elijah Price (Samuel L. Jackson) hears of the so-called miracle and decides to meet David to find out more about him, or more so, the state of his physical condition throughout his lifetime. Elijah is a sufferer of a genetic condition that has left his bones very brittle, and after hearing the news of David’s remarkable escape, he believes that whilst he may be very susceptible to injury and illness, David might very well be the exact polar opposite.

Being the Brucie fan that I am, I will sit and watch anything he is accredited for (even The Sixth Sense and A Good Day To Die Hard). When I saw Unbreakable was being shown, there was no doubt I was going to watch it, and I am very glad I did. At first, I was a bit sceptical of the idea that it was a bit sci-fi as I’m not a huge fan of the genre. But, staying loyal to Bruce, I watched it and was pleasantly surprised by it. It wasn’t actually that science-fiction-y and Bruce beat some people up, so we were back to the norm, which made me happy.

The film was good, but not phenomenal therefore the performances were good, but also not phenomenal. As I’ve said, the general rule is that I like Willis in whatever he appears and this was no exception. He was very good as the confused David who couldn’t quite take in what had happened, or what Elijah was suggesting to him. Willis got to use the face that has featured in many of his films – the one of sudden realisation of the gravity of the situation he is in that was a big thing in Die Hard. As David struggled to comprehend just what was happening in his life, Willis would apply the worried look, then just do what he would normally do – carry on fighting for the greater good.

Alongside Willis, Jackson gave his magical tough as Elijah. Jackson showed a real desperation in his performance as the long suffering man. Elijah had clearly never quite come to terms with his condition and the way it imposed on his life, and when he discovered David, it was as though it was because of David that people such as himself had to exist, to keep the universe in balance or so to speak. However, whilst Elijah had his problems, you still got some of that classic sass that Jackson always delivers.

The storyline was also quite good. As well as seemingly being invincible, David had super instincts that meant he could tell if who touched him had ever done anything terrible, which I suppose is where it falls slightly under the sci-fi genre. The thing I really liked was the revelation there was at the end which I actually thought was brilliant. It made me realise that what I had spent the past two hours watching was a real-life comic book adventure and I just thought there was something very clever about that.

Overall, I wouldn’t say Unbreakable is a must-watch, and it certainly won’t float everyone’s boat either. However, for fans of Jackson, Willis or comic book adventures, it might just be worth a couple of hours of your time. 

Published by

filmandtv101

One day, I will be an actress and filmmaker. Until then, I write about films and TV - reviews, trivia, whatever takes my fancy really. I'm also one of the hosts on Talking Stars and am currently attempting to be a vlogger of some sort, although that's a work in progress ;)

Leave a Reply

