Full of Rage due to the fact that I even considered watching this…

  
A former gangster’s daughter is kidnapped with suspicions arising that it could be the revenge of an old rival. He rounds up his old friends and seeks his own kind of justice.

For years, Paul Maguire (Nicolas Cage) has been out of the mob circle and made a living as a legitimate businessman in the area of construction. One night, he and his partner go to a party, leaving Paul’s pride and joy, his daughter, Caitlin, at home with a couple of her friends. Later on during the evening, the party is cut short when detective Peter St. John (Danny Glover) turns up to inform Paul of his daughter’s abduction. Paul learns that three criminals invaded his home and took his daughter, and he suspects it could all be linked to a job he and his friends did in a former life that went wrong. Soon, the news emerges that Caitlin has been found dead in a park and it was a Russian Tokarev pistol that killed her. Paul is haunted by his past, and is even more convinced that this whole situation has something to do with the Mafia. However, his war against the Russians reveals no connections between Caitlin and the Mob, which leaves the question of who really did kill Caitlin?

Well, Nicolas, I think perhaps it is time you got on the phone to one of these pay-day loans companies, because making three films a month to try to get back the money you lost years back is getting very tiresome for us all. Rage (or Tokarev) was painful to watch, and that really was when the film was at it’s best. I’ve seen more emotion displayed by a loaf of bread than there was shown by any of the actors – if they can justify calling themselves that – in this. I mean, I do feel quite sorry for Cage because he is only doing jobs for the money it would appear, and the vast majority of the roles he is picking are terrible. It’s a real shame because the man can act, and he has made some very good films, however unfortunately it seems that a few choices he has made when it comes to films and characters have cast a very dark shadow over his earlier, far more successful career.

The story was agonisingly slow. Rage is a 95-minute long film, which was labelled by the TV guide as a ‘blood-soaked revenge thriller’. I can tell you it took close enough to fifty minutes for anyone to get killed. To try and communicate how bored I was as I watched Rage, I’ll let you know that Nicolas Cage wears so much hairspray that he looks like he is wearing a German army helmet on his head, and the longer the film went on, the harder I was looking for a hair to have fallen out of place. It is incredibly sad, I know, but it was all I could do to keep my sanity.

Overall, I don’t think there is an awful lot more I can say other than avoid Rage at all costs. It is not to be confused with any film of a similar name, and do not feel you have to watch it because someone, goodness knows why, is pressuring you to do so. Remember kids, no means no. Nobody should have to be subjected to this. 

Published by

filmandtv101

One day, I will be an actress and filmmaker. Until then, I write about films and TV - reviews, trivia, whatever takes my fancy really. I'm also one of the hosts on Talking Stars and am currently attempting to be a vlogger of some sort, although that's a work in progress ;)

Leave a Reply

