The Hunger Games – I am hungry for more

  
A girl voluntarily takes part in the Hunger Games – a televised fight to the death in which two teenagers from each of the twelve Districts are chosen to compete.

Each year, a boy and a girl are chosen at random to represent their district in the annual Hunger Games. The twenty-four participants are forced to eliminate their fellow competitors whilst citizens of Panem, a dystopian North America, are all required to watch. When Katniss Everdeen’s (Jennifer Lawrence) sister is chosen to represent District Twelve, she steps forward to take her place. She and her male counterpart, Peeta Mellark (Josh Hutcherson) are pitted against bigger, better, strong competitors, some of whom have been training their whole lives for this.

I’ll be honest with you here, when it came to the Hunger Games, I didn’t exactly know what to expect. I hadn’t read the books; therefore all I was going on was the word of people at school, who all said that it was a good film. However, many of them said that about the Twilight Saga a few years back, so I didn’t take what they had said about this as the gospel. The conclusion I came to after watching this was that it was nothing extraordinarily good, but that I have also seen much worse films made primarily for a teenage audience (please note every street dance move that has been made in the last decade).

This was very much the same for all aspects of the film. The aching, for example, was nothing unforgettable, but everybody could at least act and that’s all I could really ask for. Lawrence as Katniss was good; I genuinely believe she was the best person to play the gutsy teen. Lawrence seems to have a sense of humour that allows her deliver Katniss’ sarcasm brilliantly, and she also seems to be a really down to earth person which helped her pull of the role so well.

Hutcherson as Peeta was also very watchable. The initial relationship he had with Katniss at the beginning of the film could, at times, be very entertaining as Katniss clearly was the one wearing the trousers. However, whilst Katniss was a tad highly strung, Hutcherson brought some rationality as Peeta. They made for a very good on-screen duo which is probably why The Hunger Games is so bearable.

However, for me, the sole reason I stuck around from the beginning to the end was due to the presence of Liam Hemsworth, younger brother of the younger Chris. I will raise my hands now and say that both siblings are fine specimens of the male subspecies, and I just wish that Hemsworth could’ve gotten a little bit more of screen time as Gale, best friend of Katniss (although if I was Katniss, there would be NO way on the Earth I’d have friend-zoned him).

All in all, I would definitely say that The Hunger is worth watching. No, it’s not ground breaking cinema, but it’s a damn sight better than some of the teenage drivel that we’ve had to put up with of late. My one major qualm? More Gale next time, please.

Published by

filmandtv101

One day, I will be an actress and filmmaker. Until then, I write about films and TV - reviews, trivia, whatever takes my fancy really. I'm also one of the hosts on Talking Stars and am currently attempting to be a vlogger of some sort, although that's a work in progress ;)

Leave a Reply

