Lucy – didn’t quite have the power for me

  
A woman gains access to 100% of her brains’ capacity after a package of drugs she is smuggling bursts inside her.

Lucy (Scarlett Johansson) is roped into handing over a consignment of drugs after her ex drops her in it. She hands the drugs over, then the next thing she knows is she is being handed a false passport with a ticket to America. However, whilst being held by her captors, she takes a beating which causes the packet which has been placed inside her to rupture, leaking the contents into her bloodstream. Hours later, Lucy is capable of doing things which had barely even been contemplated of being capable of man.

First of all, let me say that Lucy is in no way an original film. The whole story is very, very similar to that of Limitless, and many shots also bear a striking resemblance to that film as well. In fairness, you could say that Lucy is for the boys, with the lead role going to Johansson, and Limitless is for the girls as we have Bradley Cooper to look at (and I don’t know about anyone else, but he always makes me happy). So, going on that, I would say anyone who enjoyed Limitless for the story and not just the fact that Mr Cooper was in it, would also enjoy Lucy massively. Unfortunately, I am not one of those people. I found Lucy to be a weird film that sort of left me questioning many things I thought I knew about the world. It was watchable, but I wouldn’t see it again in a hurry.

Johansson played Lucy who came across the drug, CPH4, by accident. At the beginning, she was frightened by what she had gotten into, but as the film went on, Lucy became more and more dehumanised. Johansson showed this in an excellent way, and the way that she communicated with the outside world was, at times, unnerving. Johansson had a way of staring into the middle distance with a massive emptiness in her eyes.

Morgan Freeman also starred as Professor Norman, he works as a university lecturer whom Lucy turns to for help. Freeman is the sort of actor who generally makes anything better just by being in it. I firmly believe that you could be having a heart attack and if Morgan Freeman was by your side, you wouldn’t mind too much. Fair enough, Lucy isn’t one of his best films – it isn’t a patch on The Shawshank Redemption or Se7en – but there is no doubt he lifts it above what it would’ve been without him.

One thing I did like about Lucy was some of the effects used. I imagine it would’ve been great to see in 3D due to the way people were sent flying through the air and that wicked car chase scene. Then there were, of course, the close-up shots of Lucy’s eyes that lit up when the drug was active. This was reminded me most of Limitless as that too included shots of bright eyes that appeared to finally be seeing everything so much more clearly.

Overall, I think it’s fair to say I’ve seen worse, although I have seen a lot better than Lucy. However, the film was very thought-provoking. I realised that so far, humans have evolved to use 10% of their brain power. At what point in evolution do we become robots and stop being people? Because that’s what happened to Lucy. The more of her brain she unlocked, the less human she became. She no longer loved or felt anything. She became a machine. Yeesh.

Published by

filmandtv101

One day, I will be an actress and filmmaker. Until then, I write about films and TV - reviews, trivia, whatever takes my fancy really. I'm also one of the hosts on Talking Stars and am currently attempting to be a vlogger of some sort, although that's a work in progress ;)

Leave a Reply

