Sin City – there’s no justice without sin

  

A series of intertwining stories set in the fictional Basin City based on Frank Miller’s graphic novels.

Now, normally you’d get a more detailed synopsis of the film in hand, but seeing as I don’t really know what the story running throughout the whole thing was (because I’m not entirely sure there even was one), I can’t really do that. All I can say, and be 100% certain of it being correct, is that throughout the film, you get three stories from Miller’s original novels which are linked by characters – anything more than that, however, is beyond me.

So, I suppose I’ll just go straight into the AMAZING ENSEMBLE CAST THERE IS. Let’s face it, we’ve all seen ensembles before, but I think it’s fair to say that the definition of ‘ensemble’ is blown out of the water by Sin City. Bruce Willis, Mickey Rourke, Clive Owen, Benicio del Toro, Elijah Wood, Michael Madsen, Michael Clarke Duncan, Jessica Alba, Rosario Dawson and Josh Hartnett, plus directing from Robert Rodriguez and even a small sequence granted the artistic touch of Quentin Tarantino. Yes, I do believe that the phrase ‘ensembles cast’ has just been redefined. There is no arguing that there are some big names and first class talent right there. Now, I’m a big Bruce Willis fan, and I’m a big Clive Owen fan, and I’m a big admirer of Benicio del Toro’s work, and as I’ve stated in the last couple of posts, I more or less worship the ground Quentin Tarantino walks on, so there’s no real figuring as to why I watched Sin City. I really enjoyed it, even if I didn’t completely understand the whole idea of it. Each story individually worked very well and there was plenty of substance to each one with a few twists that injected new life every now and then. It’s just where all of these stories linked in with one another that I got a little confused, and I imagine I will just have to watch Sin City again to clear that one up. Oh, how will I cope?

The other eye catching thing about the film is that it is mainly in black and white with colour only being used for blood spatters, pretty dresses and Cadillacs. I’d say this was to pay homage to the graphic novels the stories were taken from, and I also have to say that it worked very well. It gave the film a uniqueness, but also was very fitting for the darkness of the stories and some of the characters. The final editing versa inky made sure that anybody who watches Sin City won’t forget it in a hurry.

All in all, I highly recommend Sin City. It’s neo-noir crime thriller with intelligent stories and plenty of action, whilst there is also a tiny bit of romance, so I suppose you could go as far as saying there is something for everyone. Make sure you pay attention when you watch it – with all the different stories it can be hard to follow, especially at the transitions – but also be patient, and if you don’t quite catch everything the first time around, throw caution to the wind and watch it again. Whilst at times it takes some watching, you have to admit the slightly easier-going bits are raucously entertaining and Rodriguez does a very good job of not adapting, but bringing Miller’s graphic novel to life. One word; enjoy!

Published by

filmandtv101

One day, I will be an actress and filmmaker. Until then, I write about films and TV - reviews, trivia, whatever takes my fancy really. I'm also one of the hosts on Talking Stars and am currently attempting to be a vlogger of some sort, although that's a work in progress ;)

Leave a Reply

